Damaged Bug – Cold Hot Plumbs

John Dwyer’s (Thee Oh Sees) synth heavy side project (Damaged Bug) has a follow up to last years Hubba Bubba and I can not fucking wait! Its called Cold Hot Plumbs and drops June 1st on Dwyer’s Castle Face Records. The first two singles are a beautiful glimpse into the evolution of his solo electronica. Hubba Bubba was a good record but overall was too obvious a starting point unrealized. Jet In Jungle (one of two singles off the new record) proves this is no half assed thing, this is pure Dwyer energy boiled down and crystallized, this is hard wired brutal noise that penetrates, this is not to be fucked with.

check this space for a pre order link as one becomes available

Thee Oh Sees – “Mutilator Defeated At Last”

Psych rock gods, Thee Oh Sees will bring us their latest effort, Mutilator Defeated At Last, May 18th via their own Castle Face Records imprint. This time around the band is featuring a revised lineup with John Dwyer (mastermind), Tim Hellman, Nick Murray, Chris Woodhouse, and Brigid Dawson with Woodhouse recording and mixing the record. Stream the title track below.


Our Favorite Sounds: 2014 Edition


High Life before they sold out butcher Schlitz selfies… ahem. Let me try that one more time.

Happy new year everyone! We have a tradition at DECIBELity where we do our best-of/end-of-year lists at the beginning of the following year instead of the beginning of December like those other blogs.  Perhaps you thought we negligent or maybe just really late—well, you thought wrong. We are right on schedule.  You see, we do things a little bit different ’round here, it’s one of the many ways we set ourselves apart from the rest.

Each of us, as has become our custom, have chosen 15 or our favorite records and we each have created a mixtape including a single song from each of the aforementioned favorite recordings.

So, enjoy and we’ll be sure to continue to keep it DECIBEL’d for you all in ’15.

Continue reading

Damaged Bug – “Hubba Bubba”

Thee Oh Sees recently announced an “indefinite hiatus”. As many of us prepared to mourn the loss of one of the greatest and most prolific rock bands of our era, front man John Dwyer had these soothing words to comfort the pain, “The band is not breaking up, this is just a well deserved break and a transitional period,” ok… i can deal with that.  After over a decade of averaging two albums a year, handfuls of EPs and maybe one the most extensive touring schedules in the business, a break is certainly deserved. Apparently, they have a much different idea of the term “break”. They’ve already announced a new album out in the spring of this year and Dwyer has a solo project under the moniker Damaged Bug with a record, Hubba Bubba ready for a Feb. 24th release via his own  Castle Face Records.

According to a press release Dwyer made the record with “synthesizers, drum machines, and assorted hand-made electronics.”  Taken from the Castle Face website…”The project is the cure to the ailment of too much guitar for too long.  Fizzing and sputtering like a glowing temperamental cockpit control panel, this is Dwyer bunkered deep in a blinking laboratory and penning songs about the long arc of our travels across space and time.”

sample two tracks off the record below and keep your eyes peeled as there is currently no preorder.

Damaged Bug – Photograph 


Garage Swim


Let’s all thank the good folks at Adult Swim, not just for their quality television programing, but also for continuing to hook up some great tunes for nothing. Garage Swim, which features tracks from DECIBELity favorites such as Thee Oh Sees, Black Lips and King Tuff, follows in the same vein as earlier Adult Swim comps like The Singles Program, {Unclassified}, and African Swim.  Grab it while it’s hot.

01 Bass Drum of Death: “Dregs”
02 Apache Dropout: “Constant Plaything”
03 Thee Oh Sees: “Devil Again”
04 King Tuff: “She’s on Fire” [ft. Gap Dream]
05 JEFF the Brotherhood: “Melting Place”
06 Black Lips: “Cruising”
07 King Khan and the Gris Gris: “Discreate Disguise”
08 Mikal Cronin: “Better Man”
09 Mind Spiders: “They Lie”
10 Cheap Time: “Kill the Light”
11 King Louie’s Missing Monuments: “Covered in Ice”
12 OBN IIIs: “A Good Lover”
13 The Gories: “On the Run”
14 King Khan: “Strange Ways”
15 Weekend: “Teal Kia”

Download the whole compilation here and be sure to check out the promotional documentaries for King Tuff and Mikal Cronin.

Thee Oh Sees – “Floating Coffin”

San Fransisco’s psychadelic/garage rockers, Thee Oh Sees are ready with their twelfth studio album and fourth LP in two years. It’s beautifully named Floating Coffin and is out April 16th via Castle Face Records.

“These songs occur in the mindset of a world that’s perpetually war-ridden,” singer-songwriter John Dwyer explains.  “Overall, it’s pretty dark, and much heavier than our other albums.”…The first single Minotaur displays this aesthetic with rumbling strings and a thick brooding nature.

Thee Oh Sees – “Minotaur”

Thee Oh Sees – “Thumb Buster”

Not only do we have Floating Coffin on the immediate horizon but they’ve also prepared an EP entitled Moonsick for record store day on the 20th. Sample Candy Clock, off the EP, below and make sure to get out and support your local record store.