DecibelCast Vol. 14 “Wandering”


This latest DecibelCast is a mix of somewhat new material that has assisted me on my summer travelings across the country. From Vermont to Seattle and up to Stanwood, WA for a 6-week job at a glass school on a 15,000-acre tree farm; over to Montana for a wedding and a 3 day excursion into Glacier National Park; back to the east coast to North Carolina; and then on down to St. Pete, FL.

Another few weeks in NC and I’ll be on my way back to the North East Kingdom and a private glass studio in Greensboro, VT.

I’ve been fairly non-existent in the blogosphere for most of my trip and this mix may reflect that. It’s been in the works since I left Vermont almost 3 months ago. Whether you’re on the road or hunkered down allow this mix to help you wander through mental or physical space. Enjoy and safe travels.

• • •

[dB-14] “Wandering”

Download the ZIP



Evenings – “Babe”

Wise Blood – “Alarm”

Astro – “Ciervos”

Baths – “Miasma Sky”

Jai Paul – “track 3”

TV Girl – “She Smokes in Bed”

DEMON QUEEN – “Rude Boy (feat. N8NOFACE)

CocoRosie – “Gravedigress”

The Blank Tapes – “Pearl”

André – “Mend”

King Khan and The Shrines – “Born To Die”

Alex Bleeker and The Freaks – “Step Right Up (Pour Yourself Some Wine)”

Hospital Ships – “All Yr Gold”

Coma Cinema – “Satan Made A Mansion”

Paul Cary – “Ghost of a Man”

Jacuzzi Boys – “Double Vision”

La Luz – “Call Me in the Day”

GRMLN – “Coral”

The Aquadolls – “Our Love Will Always Remain”

Demon’s Claws – “Weird Ways”

Deerhunter – “Punk (La vie antérieure)”

Jonathan Rado – “Faces”

Speedy Ortiz – “No Below”

Pure Bathing Culture – “Pendulum”

Smith Westerns – “3AM Spiritual”

Wilsen – Oblivion (Grimes Cover)

Bibio – “Dye the Water Green”

Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds – “We No Who U R”

Hot Palms – “Benny and the Jets”

LAKE R▲DIO – “Bleeding Thumb”

TV Girl – Benny and the Jetts EP

Brad P. and Trung Ngo make up the San Diego based indie pop rock duo, TV Girl. A few months ago we threw up a split 7″ they did with Dirty Gold. Well they just self released their second EP Benny and the Jetts via their Bandcamp page July 25th where you can stream all four songs, they’ve also thrown it up on their facebook page as a free download.

Their 60’s influenced hazy, electro surf/pop sounds as if it was designed for the lazy summer afternoon. These songs are nostalgic, melodic, and catchy with just enough psychedelic spin.

TV Girl – Lizzy Come Back to Life

TV Girl – Baby You Were There

TV Girl – Benny and the Jetts

TV Girl – If You Want It (You Got It) from the 2010 self-titled EP

Dirty Gold- “ROAR” EP

San Diego’s Dirty Gold play 60’s influenced Afro-Surf/Pop. Music drenched in sunlight, guitar riffs reminiscent of blistering hot summer vacations, seagulls, and well, whatever els you might associate surf/pop with. They released ROAR back on the 12th of april on Autumn Tone Records, 5 songs soaked in salt water. You can stream the EP in its entirety over on their website Here.

Forming in late 2010 their recognition exploded when they threw up the single California Sunrise at the beginning of 2011 here’s the video.

California Sunrise


They also put out a split 7″ with TV Girl back on March 31st as mentioned in a post earlier on our blog when it came out, you can go to that here

Fresh New Tracks

fresh bear tracks after winter hibernation

So there are a bunch of really good tracks I have stumbled across recently coming out of hibernation and so I’m just putting them all into one post for y’all right here.

First is a new Beastie Boys track!!! It’s called “Make Some Noise” and the full video is below. It is taken from the long version of the video called “Fight For Your Right (Revisited)” which will be released along with the full album on May 3rd. The new album is called “Hot Sauce Committee Part 2” and is streaming at the Beasties site here

The only place I could find this track and the Passion Pit remix of it for free is ironically at a site called fresh new tracks. So go there and get both of those and whatever else your heart desires.

Although not as big as a new Beastie Boys album, a new My Morning Jacket album is dropping May 31st and you can get the title track from the album “Circuital” at their website (click above link).

Next TV Girl has a free EP you can get here. Along with a 7″ they released with Dirty Gold.

New Villager has a track I cant get out of my head called “Rich Doors” that I found for free at RCRD LBL here. And if you don’t know about RCRD LBL it is one of the best sources for new free music on the interwebs fo sho.

Purity Ring came out with a new 7″ today I think with “Ungirthed” on one side and “Lofticries” on the B side which you can get for free here.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra is a band that I think will explode in your face soon even though they are unknown and I really know nothing about them but the song “How can u luv me” which you can get here. They just signed to fat possum and are on tour so check em out if you want to but I dont really care geez.

And finally I’m gonna end with a hard azz hip hop track so you don’t question my street cred. Its produced by Afrojack and blackberry commercial star Diplo and I know its by Chris Brown but for some reason he is having a resurgence which no one can explain… Anyway the track is called “Look at Me Now” its hot and it features Wheezy and Busta Bust and you can get it for free from Mad Decent here. Below is the video so you can see crazy Chris Brown dancing…Enjoy!

Anyways there you have it… Have fun finding and listening.